Coal capacity factors in the NEM, 2017-18

The tables below contain the registered capacity, output and capacity factor of the coal fired power stations in the National Electricity Market (NEM) for the 2017-2018 financial year.

The output data is derived from the <code>DISPATCH_UNIT_SOLUTION</code> table in the Australian Energy Market Operator's (AEMO) Market Management System $(MMS)^1$. The capacity data is derived from the 'registration and exemptions list'. From this data the capacity factor is calculated.

1 New South Wales

Station Name	Registered Capacity (MW)	Output FY17 (GWh)	Capacity Factor $(\%)$
Bayswater	2640	13043.24	56.40%
Eraring	2880	14273.12	56.57%
Liddell*	1680*	7222.08	49.07*%
Mt Piper	1400	6439.56	52.51%
Vales Point "B"	1320	6853.77	59.27%
Total	9920	47831.77	55.04%

 $^{^{*}}$ Liddell capacity was initially 2000MW but has been de-rated to 1680 MW

2 Queensland

Station Name	Registered	Output	Capacity
	Capacity (MW)	FY17 (Gwh)	Factor $(\%)$
Gladstone	1680	7439.04	50.55%
Kogan Creek	744	4258.41	65.34%
Millmerran	852	5873.11	78.69%
Stanwell	1460	7386.33	57.75%
Tarong North	443	2518.83	64.91%
Tarong Power	1400	7458.54	60.82%
Callide C	840	5116.22	69.53%
Callide	760	4600.9	69.11%
Total	8179	44651.38	62.32%

3 Victoria

Station Name	Registered	Output	Capacity
	Capacity (MW)	FY17 (Gwh)	Factor $(\%)$
Loy Yang A	2210	14231.4	73.51%
Loy Yang B	1000	7479.83	85.39%
Yallourn 'W'	1480	8584.87	66.22%
Total	4690	30296.1	73.74%

¹See http://nemweb.com.au/

²See Current registration and exemption lists